Dispatch Dubplate 009 – DLR & Script/Scar – DISDUB009

Dispatch Dubplate seem to be leading the way of how drum and bass is delivered to the fans. Harking back to the golden age of drum and bass when exclusive tunes were cut onto dubplate and only a handful of DJs had them to play out, Dispatch are creating a certain mystique with this series.

On a Dispatch Dubplate, you will normally find an exclusive VIP, remix or track appear on a very limited vinyl press run, making these as collectible as they come; it is also guaranteed that there will never be any represses.
We currently stand on release number nine which features a collaboration by DLR & Script called ‘This is Bristol’ and an exclusive VIP of ‘Burnside’ by Scar. ‘Burnside VIP’ has been doing the damage for a few years and most of us were resigned to it being lost in the history of drum & bass, but luckily for us the people over at Dispatch have made it available to the public.

‘This is Bristol’ captures the vibes of the early days of Full Cycle and Metalheadz. Chopped sampled breaks, punchy bass, a trademark vocal sample and shedloads of Bristol funk makes this a track worthy of its name.

The vinyl exclusive on this release is by DLR entitled ‘Antisocial’, this tune alone is worth the purchase even if you don’t play vinyl!

On the back of the A side ‘This is Bristol’, DLR & Script have given us each of their top 5 Bristol born tunes. Some right classics in there for the headz.


1. Die – Reincarnation

2. Octane, DLR & Break – Murmur –

3. Roni Size & Reprazent – Trust Me –

4. Decoder – PGM 5 –

5. Tech Itch & MC Jakes – The Rising –


1) Roni Size – The Calling (Goldie Remix)

2) I Kamanchi – Never Can Tell (It’s A Trap)

3) DJ Die – Play It For Me (Remix)

4) Krust – Soul In Motion

5) Krust – True Stories